1 Marzo 2015

Hola! Sorry, I know, it’s been a while. I’ve been working, going to school, and relaxing on the weekends. But I’ve got so much to catch you up on!

Well I’ll start with general update about work… Cris and I switched cars so we could keep the mileage (kilometrage?) even on them so now I have the new van. I scratched it in that nightmare of a parking garage trying to turn a corner first week. So that was a downer. But of course Cris and Pepe didn’t even bat an eye. But then this last week Cris hit the side of the old car with the door of the garage because it started closing as she was leaving! I’m telling you… this parking garage is directly from hell. So anyway, her car is in the shop this week so it was a bit of a hectic week this week but we survived and she’s using her father’s car until hers is out of the shop. English classes are going about the same with kids but Ines is my favorite now because she actually likes classes with me and shows an interest in learning how to speak and write better and I’ve seen the most improvement in her. The boys don’t really seem to care and it’s harder for me to make the classes interesting for them but it’s fine because I know I’ll have an enjoyable class with Ines at the end of the day. Hahah. I’ve been sick for basically the last two months. Working with kids and living in a foreign country – my immune system had thought it had seen it all. Surprise!

School… I’m back in classes with Pablo, who, like I said, I like as a person, but he is just not a very good teacher. So I’ve been bringing in stuff for our class to do (like endure my translations of Spanish poetry, etc.) because he never has a lesson plan. But apparently there’s now another class at the B2 level and we’re going to combine our classes and Pablo has leave for a few weeks because he’s having his second child! I’m excited for him. But also excited to be excited for school again with new classmates and a new instructor.

I have a break coming up! For the week of Easter, the kids have a week off of school so I’m going with my friend Antonio to see my friend Maria that lives in Athens! She lived with me as one of my roommates in Tucson, Arizona a few years ago when she started doing research work at the labs of University of Arizona and she stayed with us for a summer, then my junior year of university when I studied abroad in Italy I spent some of my Spring Break with her in Athens, and now I have a whole week with her and her kids in Athens and maybe some of the islands in about a month! Already booked my flight and everything. I’m very excited to see her and her kids, explore Athens more with Antonio, and eat the amazing food and hopefully get some sun!

Antonio and I also bought tickets to go to the Primavera Sound outdoor music festival for a weekend in Barcelona! Many things to look forward to!

 primavera

So this weekend on Friday we went out for some tapas and sangria at El Tigre and then on Saturday, Morgan and I woke up early and went to the train station and got ourselves to Ávila and spent the day there! We had no idea what to do and had no plans so we got there and walked around basically all day. We had a lot of fun and it’s a very cute city with some amazing architecture and buildings. However, we did not get to see Santa Teresa’s finger (complete with ring). Hahah. Anyway, we got kebabs, sat in the sun, walked around the whole town (maybe a few times), found an old abandoned church building, and took lots of photos. It was a good trip. 🙂

tumblr_nkhxzd9MfL1qa6ccao1_540     tumblr_nkhxzc4hAO1qa6ccao1_540

tumblr_nkhxnbLeEj1qa6ccao1_540

tumblr_nkhxl8Vs9c1qa6ccao1_540      tumblr_nkhxkuf9TK1qa6ccao1_540

tumblr_nkhxjzgb441qa6ccao1_540

tumblr_nkhxjdq2mg1qa6ccao1_540

DSC_0445      DSC_0438

DSC_0405      DSC_0369

DSC_0368

DSC_0324

DSC_0322

DSC_0314      DSC_0309

DSC_0308

(the coolest mail slots ever)

DSC_0306

DSC_0305

As of this week, I’ve been here for 5 months already! The weather is warming up (so happy about that), my Spanish is improving (slowly but surely – but I’ve been reflecting on it lately), and I’m actually getting really nervous about this all coming to an end. I know, I’m jumping the gun. But I feel so comfortable here now and even thought I miss my family and friends and Arizona and Washington, I am going to miss this place the same until I can get back. That reminds me! I didn’t tell you! I got accepted into the Masters in Teaching English as a Second Language Program at Northern Arizona University for Fall 2015! Now we wait for the email confirming my teaching assistant position that will pay for my school…. fingers crossed!

Leave a comment